Oyo State House of Assembly elects a new speaker

Olagunju Ojo, Oyo Assembly new speaker

Following the demise of late Rt. Hon Michael Adeyemo, the former speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly, members of the state assembly on Tuesday elected the minority leader, Rt. Hon. Olagunju Ojo as the new speaker.

However, the incumbent deputy speaker, Hon. Abdulwasi Musa, retains his position.

At the plenary session, Hon. Joshua Oyebamiji, representing Akinyele II nominated the new speaker while Hon. Gbenga Oyekola, representing Atiba State Constituency seconded the nomination by Gbenga Oyekola of Atiba constituency.

Shortly after the emergence of the new speaker, the Oyo State Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, in a statement signed by his spokesperson, Bolaji Tunji lauded the House to have organised a rancour-free election that produced Ojo as the new speaker.

The governor charged the new speaker to sustain the legacy of peace, cooperation and bridge-building existing between the executive and the legislature.

Ajimobi stressed that the support of the legislature is critical to the consolidation of the unprecedented achievements of his administration in the last seven years.